The World at Large

And how was your 2013?  I haven’t posted in a long time – you can probably guess why!  This blog is about eating right and working out, neither of which I did during the year of 2013.  I pretty much ate my way through the year, in fact.  Well, maybe that’s an exaggeration, but I didn’t pay attention to what I ate either.  But, let’s start at the beginning.

Last year ended up being a pretty big year for me.  I had a major job change, to a new law firm and location (I now drive 120 miles round trip most days).  It ended up being a great opportunity for me, but I still feel as though I’m transitioning, and left a great firm with great friends that I had there.  This was probably the hardest move (job wise) I’ve ever made.

I also got a dog this past year.  This was something I had wanted to do for quite some time – now, I’m sure you are thinking, ooh, a dog, now there’s a running buddy!  If I had gone for a nice golden retriever or some sort of shepherd that might be the case, but I got a pug.  She’s the greatest dog in the world, but not exactly a running partner.  She does, however, walk very, very fast and I spent a good part of last year walking her twice a day and panting by the end of our walks.

I am not sure what spurred on giving up watching how I ate or caring anymore, but I suspect it was a combination of the change in jobs, which ended up being very stressful, and still is, so I suspect a lot of emotional eating is going on.  

So what have I done about it?  Well, not a lot as of yet.  I did hire a dietitian to look at my diet and figure out something that puts me under control some.  She came up with a 1,400/calorie a day plan, which is very doable.  I also log my food every day, which makes me accountable.  The first two weeks were great.  I lost 3 pounds each week effortlessly (and without working out).  The third week, which happened to fall over the week of Valentine’s Day, I followed my meal plan, I logged every thing, I skipped every single delicious thing brought into the office that I REALLY wanted to eat, and you know what happened?  I gained two pounds.  Two pounds!  In all my “eating what I wanted 2013,” I only gained two pounds.  And when I say anything, I mean, I ate anything I wanted.  Now, following a plan where I’m eating more fruits and vegetables and watching my carb intake, etc., I gain.  

Now this is the part where I’m supposed to tell you I buckled down and got back on the healthy eating horse.  That didn’t happen.  I resorted to old behaviors, and being angry with myself.  I know I have an extremely unhealthy relationship with food (those eating disorders are the giveaway for that), but knowing that I have to lose weight and then not even coming close to succeeding is frustrating.  I look at how other people eat who are thin and I simply don’t understand.  I have friends who seemingly eat what I eat, or more, and are rail thin.  

I bought some new running shoes last weekend, and I did walk the dog for a good long time yesterday, which felt pretty good.  At the end of the day, this is a marathon, not a sprint, no matter how much I’d love to lose the weight in a week or two.  So, it’s back on the healthy eating saddle this week, and back to being accountable.  It’s also about remembering that the only person I’m hurting is myself when I decide to eat through my entire kitchen.  It doesn’t affect anyone but me in the end.

Here’s to a healthier and stronger 2014 – and I am going to break those running shoes in pretty soon!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Email me!

    thegreenstuff64@yahoo.com
  • Easy Crustless Quiche

    This is a fantastic recipe that is easily adapted to whatever you really love in your quiche.

    7 egg whites;
    1.5 C skim milk
    (for quiche shown)
    Add 1 C chopped vidalia onion (sauteed in oil first)
    1 chopped red pepper (sauteed with onion)
    1 10 oz. box of spinach (also sauteed)

    Heat oven to 450 and bake for 15 minutes; reduce heat to 375 for an additional 30 minutes. During the last 15 mins. add approximately 2 C of sharp cheddar cheese.

    This will yield approximately 6 large pieces, amounting to around 110 calories per piece.

  • Thought to Keep in Mind on the Journey

    Failure is merely a perception; with each effort, we get the ability to start over again.
  • Awards

