Goals and Resolutions

In general, I don’t make New Year’s resolutions.  I learned a long time ago that when it comes to some sort of weight loss challenge, by the end of January, I’m burned out and ready to quit, or have already quit.  I heard  a statistic the other day which said that of the 40% of people who make resolutions, only 8% succeed.  

Over the past few years, I’ve tried to make (and attain) goals that really have nothing to do with weight loss, or the number on the scale.  Last year, it was running and doing the 5Ks, which is something I want to definitely continue this year.  Over the past couple of weeks, I have realized some goals for 2013 that I definitely want to implement.  Outwardly, they seem they have nothing to do with health in general, but in really thinking about it, I believe they do.  

A couple of months ago, I realized that I had quite a bit of time off still due me from work.  For the first time in years (okay, since the 1980s), I took the entire week of Christmas off as well as New Year’s Eve.  In general, I’ll take long weekends to make my time off seem more stretched out and rarely, if ever, take a week.  Partly, this was due to the nature of the business I was in (litigation) and if I took more than a couple of days, I would come back to complete chaos.  Really not worth it.  Since I switched groups at work earlier this year (now in intellectual property – patents and trademarks), while there are deadlines, they are a lot further out and most everything can wait a week.  So, earlier this fall, I decided since both my attorneys would be out, I’d take the week as well.  What a great decision that was!  

I did check my work email everyday, just to be sure there were no work emergencies, and thankfully, there weren’t.  After finishing a part-time retail job that nearly killed me with hours and time on my feet, I knew I was due a rest.  My first real day off from both jobs, I was so tired that I slept through for 11 hours.  That’s incredible – I never sleep that long!  I was thoroughly exhausted and worn out.  

During my time off, which has been incredibly joyful for me, I’ve come to realize there are some things I want to attain in the coming year.  Paying down debt is the first one.  I really have everything I need, period.  With that said, I’m putting myself on a spending fast, which means I’ll be spending on bills and groceries – that’s it.  I’m anxious to see what I have left each month to apply towards other debt.  While this seems pretty drastic, it will accomplish a couple of things – (1) I won’t have to go back to a horrible part-time job; and (2) it will allow me to live within my means and make me really budget.  As someone who lives alone and is dependent on myself for paying the bills, this is something I need to implement.  I also read a study several years ago that indicated people who have their financial lives in check are more fit.  I don’t know if I believe that or not, but it does make sense to me.  

Secondly, rest is absolutely critical.  I’ve been burning the candle at both ends for several months now and would rarely settle down long enough to even sleep well.  Not acceptable!  Rest is absolutely critical to a healthy body, and I’m going to be sure that I continue to be sure I do that.  

Finally, running is still in my plans for the coming year.  I have been nursing a bad knee for a couple of weeks now (due to the standing associated with the part-time job, believe it or not), and it is slowly getting better.  Certainly nothing I could run on right now or in the near future, but hopefully, it will continue to heal and get better before the Cleveland weather breaks.  Again, it made me just realize how important rest in terms of healing is to the body.  

I also plan to get back to my writing this year.  That has been pushed to the wayside in favor of other things.   That is something else I need to push myself harder to complete.  

With all those goals in mind, I’m hoping that I’ll continue to eat right (I didn’t gain any weight over Christmas, believe it or not), and take care of myself.  I’m not getting any younger, you know!  

I wish only the best for everyone in 2013 – a year filled with prosperity and health.  May you have all you strive for in this coming year!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Email me!

    thegreenstuff64@yahoo.com
  • Easy Crustless Quiche

    This is a fantastic recipe that is easily adapted to whatever you really love in your quiche.

    7 egg whites;
    1.5 C skim milk
    (for quiche shown)
    Add 1 C chopped vidalia onion (sauteed in oil first)
    1 chopped red pepper (sauteed with onion)
    1 10 oz. box of spinach (also sauteed)

    Heat oven to 450 and bake for 15 minutes; reduce heat to 375 for an additional 30 minutes. During the last 15 mins. add approximately 2 C of sharp cheddar cheese.

    This will yield approximately 6 large pieces, amounting to around 110 calories per piece.

  • Thought to Keep in Mind on the Journey

    Failure is merely a perception; with each effort, we get the ability to start over again.
  • Awards

