A New York Minute

I know I’ve been lax in posting and my apologies.  Life seems to have gotten in my way!  I’ve been so busy, I barely have time to breathe most days.  

Speaking of breathing, I DID run the Turkey Trot on Thanksgiving morning, which now seems like months ago.  The weather in Cleveland on Thanksgiving was nearly perfect for running – low 50s and sunny.  While I only ran the 1 mile race (which wasn’t timed), there were approximately 8,000 runners for the five mile run, which my son did – it was amazing to watch them line up for an entire block!  Okay, back to my own race that morning.

I felt pretty good and felt ready, even though I was tired.  I knew I hadn’t hydrated properly the night before, since I had worked.  All that being said, I felt ready.  I lined up at the start and turned on my Ipod to discover that it was totally DEAD!  WHAT?!!  I cannot run without music – I think it’s impossible.  I played with it for awhile, and realized it was a lost cause – arrrgh!  The race started and there I was without music – I had no other choice but to move on.

As usual, I find someone to pace myself with, and I was fortunate enough to find an actual trainer with two or three women who she was coaching throughout the race.  I’m not sure if they had run before or not, but they were certainly in the early stages of running (which I still really consider myself), and having a hard time near the end, but the great part about it was that she was throwing off encouraging statements the whole time, so I stuck close to them.  It was like having my own personal cheering team – since I just pretended she was talking to me as well.  Hey, I need to get inspiration and motivation where I can!

Since it was only a mile, the race was very quick to me.  As we were probably a quarter mile from the end, the one woman was really struggling.  Since I didn’t have music playing anyways, I tried to encourage her by telling her how close we were to the end.  She said she didn’t think she could finish it and I told her she HAD to finish it and she HAD to run over the finish line, because it would feel amazing (it was her first race of any kind I learned).  She picked up her pace and started running.  I went ahead and ran ahead – because seeing the finish line, I always just want to finish and crossed to the sound of lots and lots of people cheering and clapping!  This is unusual because normally I’m at the back of the pack and everyone else is running.  Since they did the one mile run first, the five milers were still waiting to run and everyone was on the sidelines, it was great!  

As I crossed, we were handed finisher tags (see below)!  I realize they were handed out to everyone, but since I’ve never received any sort of recognition, I was pretty thrilled!

IMG_1719

The five milers didn’t receive the finisher tags, which I thought was interesting, but I’m glad I received mine!  My son finished the five mile in a cool 36 minutes and as always, it was so exciting to watch the “real” runners finish.  I totally missed seeing my son cross the finish line because he had been wearing a cap and I was looking for that, which I learned he had removed within the first mile of the race.  All in all, a fantastic way to spend Thanksgiving morning!  I’m hopeful that when he comes home from college next year, we will be able to start our morning the same way.

Finally, with Christmas only days away, I just wanted to reflect for a moment on the Newtown tragedy.  I think most of  us take for granted our days and the routines we’ve created – we forget that in a second that can change forever.  I’m sure the families in Newtown that lost loved ones never thought for a second that their day would be anything but normal.   It’s made me again realize how incredibly short our time is –  so move forward embracing each day as the wondrous time it is and keep the families in Newtown in your hearts and thoughts as they move through this incredibly difficult time.  

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Email me!

    thegreenstuff64@yahoo.com
  • Easy Crustless Quiche

    This is a fantastic recipe that is easily adapted to whatever you really love in your quiche.

    7 egg whites;
    1.5 C skim milk
    (for quiche shown)
    Add 1 C chopped vidalia onion (sauteed in oil first)
    1 chopped red pepper (sauteed with onion)
    1 10 oz. box of spinach (also sauteed)

    Heat oven to 450 and bake for 15 minutes; reduce heat to 375 for an additional 30 minutes. During the last 15 mins. add approximately 2 C of sharp cheddar cheese.

    This will yield approximately 6 large pieces, amounting to around 110 calories per piece.

  • Thought to Keep in Mind on the Journey

    Failure is merely a perception; with each effort, we get the ability to start over again.
  • Awards

