The Number on the Scale Isn’t Everything

I am the queen of dieting, literally.  I know what I am supposed to do and when I’m supposed to do it.  That is probably what makes this last year or so very frustrating.  The weight should be dropping of me,  and yet, it hasn’t.  I never believed in the middle age spread until well, I hit middle age.  My already slow metabolism has slowed even more.

This doesn’t mean I haven’t had any success.  Not by a long shot as I discovered this week.  My normally mundane, slow life has skyrocketed into fast forward almost faster than I can handle.  Dealing with two college aged boys, one a senior trying to get admitted to schools and the other transferring from the college he’s in has not only added stress, but concern that they are both making the right decisions for each of them.  I’ve taken on a seasonal part-time job to ensure that I am not using credit cards for the holidays (and in the meantime, exhausting myself), so running hasn’t been high on my agenda lately.  I have the Turkey Trot on Thanksgiving, and it’s only a mile, so I will be fine.  I’m just hopeful that there isn’t snow on the ground!  

I have routinely gauged my success through what I weigh.  I realize how wrong this is – defining myself by a number.  I recently had to buy new jeans and the ones that I’ve been wearing were a women’s size.  Of course, I love these jeans and have one pair.  I decided to go online and see if I could order the same thing – nope, a year later, that same style no longer exists anywhere.  I was back to square one trying to find jeans that both fit and were comfortable (I think I’m one of the few people on the plant that normally don’t consider jeans “comfortable” ever).  Anyway, I ended up ordering several pairs online, because I didn’t have the time to actually shop.  I ordered various sizes as well – although when I received the “womens” sizes, they were all too big.  Weird.  I went back to the drawing board, and ordered regular sizes and when this last shipment arrived, not only do I fit into a regular size, it’s a size smaller.  

Also, with the turn of the weather, I was looking for a jacket that wasn’t huge and bulky, something I could just throw on and walk out the door.  Routinely, I go through the clothes that no longer fit me (usually too small) and donate them – I do the same with coats.  You’d think that coats would stretch to fit, surprise!  They don’t.  Anyway, a couple of years ago, I was out with my mom and she had on a cute fleece jacket that I liked (she’s about a size 0 so way too small for me), and a couple of weeks later, she showed up with the jacket in my size.  I tried it on at home (it zippered) and I couldn’t close it.  No kidding.  It would NOT close.  I’ve never worn the thing.  While going through my closet earlier this week, I came upon the too small, too tight jacket and pulled it out remembering exactly why I hadn’t worn it.  I then went ahead and tried it on again expecting the same result.  This time, the jacket fit me perfectly and was even a little roomy.  Nothing short of a miracle!

When I get on the scale, I see little difference, but in my clothes, absolutely a difference.  Things that were too tight, fit again and clothes I didn’t imagine I could fit in, actually go on.  I’m nowhere close being to where I want to physically, but I’m moving in the right direction.  The small victories have to be counted.  A brand new jacket that I couldn’t wear in the last two years is a new addition to my wardrobe that I love now.  And last night, wearing my new jeans, I actually felt good in them – maybe not totally comfortable, but I felt good.  

Thanksgiving morning will be a lot of fun at the run, and I’m excited.  I work the evening before, and will be tired, but I also know I will feel accomplished.   Here’s to always moving forward, one way or another, even if the number isn’t what you want to see.  

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. It is such a great feeling to see clothes fitting better when you’re working hard, congrats! Keep up the hard work, and try to make time (even just a little time) to get in your workouts each day… I find it makes stress more managable!

    Reply
  2. Thanks, Elaine – I’m also dealing with an old back injury that has flared up, so quite literally I’m icing/heating when I am at home. UGH Don’t get old!! Thanks for reading. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Email me!

    thegreenstuff64@yahoo.com
  • Easy Crustless Quiche

    This is a fantastic recipe that is easily adapted to whatever you really love in your quiche.

    7 egg whites;
    1.5 C skim milk
    (for quiche shown)
    Add 1 C chopped vidalia onion (sauteed in oil first)
    1 chopped red pepper (sauteed with onion)
    1 10 oz. box of spinach (also sauteed)

    Heat oven to 450 and bake for 15 minutes; reduce heat to 375 for an additional 30 minutes. During the last 15 mins. add approximately 2 C of sharp cheddar cheese.

    This will yield approximately 6 large pieces, amounting to around 110 calories per piece.

  • Thought to Keep in Mind on the Journey

    Failure is merely a perception; with each effort, we get the ability to start over again.
  • Awards

